NASA ASTROPHYSICS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

PUBLIC MEETING

FACA Opening Remarks by NASA Executive Secretary

Good morning everyone, and welcome to NASA Headquarters. My name is Hashima Hasan and I serve as the Executive Secretary of the Astrophysics Advisory Committee.

I would like to call this committee meeting to order at this time. I have a few administrative announcements before we begin:

- The NASA Astrophysics Advisory Committee is a Federal advisory committee established under the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). As such, our committee meetings are open to the public. Please note that, although this is an open meeting, we kindly ask that the public not interrupt the speakers or committee members before, during, or after their presentations.
- In compliance with the FACA Federal statute, formal minutes are being taken throughout the meeting today. These minutes are for the public record, hence, all presentations, discussions and comments by committee members should be considered to be "on the record."
- Each member of this NASA Astrophysics Advisory Committee has been appointed to his/her position by the Science Mission Directorate Associate Administrator. Each member has been appointed because of his/her specific subject matter expertise as individuals, and hence each member is subject to the Federal Ethics laws. The category of appointment is called "Special Government Employee" (SGE).
- All SGE's on this committee should remember to recuse (disqualify) themselves from
 discussion if a topic comes up in which you have a potential conflict of interest between your
 financial interests (including those of your employer) and matters we are discussing on this
 committee.
- We have identified the following conflicts and request the conflicted members to leave the table during the presentation and discussion of the topics they are conflicted on.

The science team of the Wide-Field Infrared Survey Telescope (WFIRST) is under contract to NASA to conduct its duties. Any Committee member who is employed by an organization that has a WFIRST contract has conflict with WFIRST. It turns out that all members of the committee are conflicted on WFIRST with the exception of Brenda Dingus, Kelly Holley-Bockleman, and John Conklin.

If there are conflicts other than the ones we have identified, please identify those now or when the discussion topic comes up.

- If you have any questions related to Ethics issues, please see me separately, and if needed, I will put you in contact with a NASA Ethics attorney. He/she will be happy to answer any and all your questions.
- Also, we require everyone in the room to please sign in.

Thank you for your time and attention to these administrative details.

It is my honor at this time to introduce the Chair of NASA Astrophysics Advisory Committee, ____Dr. Feryal Ozel____, who will preside over this meeting.