

Exoplanet Exploration Program Analysis Group (ExoPAG) Update

NAC Astrophysics Subcommittee Meeting 31 July 2012

Douglas M Hudgins
Exoplanet Exploration Program Scientist
Astrophysics Division, NASA Headquarters



ExoPAG Status

- Next Meeting: ExoPAG-6, 13-14 October 2012, Reno, NV
 - Held in conjunction with the 44th Meeting of the AAS Division for Planetary Sciences
 - Venue chosen to facilitate participation from a different segment of the exoplanet community
 - Agenda (in preparation) to emphasize near-term opportunities/challenges in exoplanetary science
 - Information and registration: http://exep.jpl.nasa.gov/exopag/exopag6/
- Ongoing Activities Science Analysis Groups (SAGs)
 - 1. Debris Disks and Exozodiacal Dust Work completed; report accepted for publication in PASP.
 - 2. Potential for Exoplanet Science Measurements from Solar System Probes –
 Work completed.
 - 3. Exoplanetary System Architecture and Dynamical Stability Inactive; activities suspended.
 - 4. Measurements Needed for Exoplanetary Characterization Work completed;
 report in preparation; est. closure ExoPAG-7 (Jan. 2013)
 - 5. Exoplanet Flagship Requirements and Characteristics Work completed;
 report in preparation; est. closure ExoPAG-7 (Jan. 2013)
 - 8. State of Precision RV Measurements for and Exoplanetary Census Inactive;
 plan to renew activities with new ExoPAG EC leadership after
 ExoPAG-6.



ExoPAG Executive Committee Changes

- After ExoPAG-5 in Jan. 2012, 5 members of the ExoPAG Executive Committee (EC) reached the end of their appointments, including the Chair, Jim Kasting.
 - Dave Bennett (Notre Dame)
 - Daniel Coulter (JPL)
 - Brad Hansen (UCLA)
 - Jim Kasting (Penn State) Chair (will serve one year as ex officio member of EC; see below)
 - Bruce Macintosh (LLNL)
- Replacement of the Chair was subject to the process of appointing ApS members.
- Candidates for the remaining positions on the ExoPAG EC were solicited through an open "Dear Colleague" letter issued Jan. 3, 2012.
 - 24 nominees evaluated by Exoplanet Exploration Program Scientist (Hudgins), Program
 Executive (LaPiana), outgoing ExoPAG Chair (Kasting), and incoming ExoPAG Chair (Gaudi).
 - 4 candidates recommended to Astrophysics Division Director.
 - Appointments announced mid-March.
- New members of the ExoPAG Executive Committee:
 - Scott Gaudi (Ohio State) Chair
 - Dave Latham (Harvard-Smithsonian CfA)
 - Peter Plavchan (Caltech/NexSci)
 - Remi Soummer (Space Telescope Sci. Inst.)
 - Jonathan Fortney (U. California, Santa Cruz)
- It was also decided that the outgoing ExoPAG Chair would remain on the ExoPAG EC in an ex officio capacity for an additional year to facilitate a smooth transition.