Department of Astronomy



4055 McPherson Laboratory 140 West 18th Avenue Columbus, OH 43210-1173

Phone (614) 292-2022 Fax (614) 292-2928 E-mail peterson@astronomy.ohio-state.edu Web www.astronomy.ohio-state.edu/~peterson

10 April 2013

Dr. Wes Huntress, Chair NASA Advisory Council Science Committee

Dear Wes,

Dr. Paul Hertz, Director of the NASA Astrophysics Division, reported to the NASA Advisory Council's Astrophysics Subcommittee (APS) that a compelling 30-year vision for the future of space astrophysics would be very helpful to NASA. In response, the APS has chartered an Astrophysics Roadmap Team as a task force that is intended to develop and articulate this vision. The team membership is listed below (although one member had to withdraw and a replacement is currently being sought) and the Team Charter is included as a separate attachment. The Roadmap Team has been asked to submit its findings by the end of August 2013 and to have its final report prepared by no later than 16 December 2013.

At the present time, the Roadmap Team has solicited science and technology concepts in the form of abstracts for presentations (see http://science.nasa.gov/science-committee/subcommittees/nac-astrophysics-subcommittee/astrophysics-roadmap/), which were due on 25 March, and has received community input in the form of innovative ideas that address current and future scientific and/ technology challenges over the next 30 years. The Roadmap Team held a face-to-face team meeting on 27-28 March at NASA GSFC to discuss and digest this early input. The original intent was to select the best science and technology abstracts for presentation at a town-hall type meeting at Space Telescope Science Institute during the first week of May. Unfortunately this meeting was cancelled on account of NASA's new restrictive travel and conference policies, and, instead, an electronic teleconferencing option is being explored. The Roadmap Team is planning one more team meeting at JPL in early June.

I will be happy to report on further progress of the Roadmap Team whenever you wish.

Sincerely yours, on behalf of the Astrophysics Subcommittee,

Bradley M. Peterson, Chair NAC Astrophysics Subcommittee

Cc: Paul Hertz Joan Centrella Astrophysics Roadmap Team

Chryssa Kouveliotou, NASA MSFC (chair) Eric Agol, University of Washington Natalie Batalha, NASA Ames Misty Bentz, Georgia State University Neil Cornish, Montana State University Alan Dressler, Carnegie Observatories Enectali Figueroa-Feliciano, MIT Scott Gaudi, Ohio State University Olivier Guyon, University of Arizona Dieter Hartmann, Clemson University Jason Kalirai, Space Telescope Science Institute Michael Niemack, Cornell University Feryal Ozel, University of Arizona Chris Reynolds, University of Maryland Aki Roberge, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Kartik Sheth, National Radio Astronomy Observatory David Weinberg, Ohio State University Jonas Zmuidzinas, JPL/Caltech