Heliophysics Advisory Committee Heliophysics Senior Review Report Briefing

29 November - 1 December 2017 Meeting Briefing at NASA Headquarters on 30 November 2017

From: The NASA Heliophysics Advisory Committee [HPAC] members who were in attendance on 30 Nov 2017 -- Jill Dahlburg (Chair, Jill.Dahlburg@NRL.NAVY.MIL), Vassilis Angelopoulos, Paul Cassak, Heather Elliott, Darko Filipi, Larisa Goncharenko, George Ho, Lynn Kistler, James Klimchuck, Michael Liemohn, Tomoko Matsuo, Mari Paz Miralles, Cora Randall, and Roger Smith via telecom.

To: Ms. Margaret Luce, Heliophysics Division Director (Acting)

Cc: Elsayed Talaat (HPAC Designated Federal Officer), Janet Kozyra (HPAC Alternate Designated Federal Officer).

Date: 24 January 2018

Dear Ms. Luce:

The NASA Heliophysics Advisory Committee [HPAC] received the report of the 2017 Heliophysics Senior Review [HSR] Panel at our 29 November to 1 December 2017 meeting. The HPAC members who were in attendance, both in person at NASA Headquarters and remotely via telecom, are listed above. Two of these HPAC members, Vassilis Angelopoulos and Cora Randall, recused themselves from the HPAC's HSR deliberations on the basis of their particular status with considered missions.

On behalf of the HPAC, I am writing to confirm that the HPAC voted unanimously to accept all recommendations in the 2017 HSR Report and supplementary material presented to the HPAC on 30 November 2017 at NASA Headquarters. The 2017 HSR Report is attached.

The 2017 HSR Panel, which consisted of 14 Special Government Employees, convened from 30 October to 3 November 2017 to consider the 16 Heliophysics Division [HPD] operating missions in the extended phase. The HPAC would like to strongly commend the HSR Panel for its work, and congratulate the NASA HPD for exemplary execution of its mission and for its outstanding Heliophysics Science Observatory.

If there is additional information that you require from the HPAC or the 2017 HSR Panel, please do not hesitate to notify me.

Sincerely,

Jul Dohlo

Jill Dahlburg O Chair, Heliophysics Advisory Committee